We are a dedicated group of community, parent and staff governors who support and challenge the Headteacher in providing the best education for the children of Sherborne C of E Primary School. All of our governors are from the local area and have strong links to our school. The main governing body meets twice a term with other sub-committees meeting more regularly as needed to discuss specific areas of interest.

All of our governors visit the school regularly on an informal basis supporting us in our many activities. The governors also formally visit the school individually at least once a year.

Governing Body Structure

The Governing Body consists of 10 Governors:

Parent Governors - 3, each serving four years

Co-opted Governors - 2, each serving four years

Staff Governors - 1, serving for two years

Authority Governors - 1, serving four years

Headteacher - 1, serving whilst in position

Foundation - 1, serving for four years

Our Governors

Reverend Nick Fisher

Co-opted Governor
Appointed Chair of Governors 15/06/2020 - 14/06/2024

Mr John Moore

Appointed Head Teacher 01/09/16 Interests: Director of Maths Passport

Mr William Russell

Parent Governor
Appointed 25/04/2022 - 24/04/2026

Mrs Flora Ellis

Staff Governor
Appointed 29/09/2020 - 28/09/2022

Mrs Kate Harris

Parent Governor
Appointed 12/02/20 - 11/02/24

Mrs Emily Penfold

Foundation Governor
Appointed 02/01/22 - 01/01/26

Mr Piers Pether

Parent Governor
Appointed 25/04/2022 - 24/04/2026 Interests: Pethers Builders

Mr Jonathan Summers

Co-opted Governor
Appointed 18/12/19 - 17/12/23 Interests: ControlSoft Ltd

Rev Dr Gerard Moate

Ex-Officio Governor
Appointed 01/09/2020